The Nexus are London based writing/production duo James Bauer-Mein and David Sneddon.

David and James met while touring together as professional musicians in 2003. After starting to write together for new projects, they soon realised their passion for developing and writing with artists, quickly establishing their first European hit “The Message” for UK artist Nate James.

David & James took on the moniker ‘The Nexus’ in July 2009 and within a year were making a name for themselves as the place to go for new artist development. Most notably their first project with HURTS and the global multi platinum debut album ‘Happiness’ spawned three songs ‘Illuminated / Silver Lining / Blood Tears & Gold’ with Zane Lowe giving the song ‘Blood Tears & Gold’ its Radio 1 premier in January 2010 as his “Hottest Record in the World”. Two of the tracks would go on to become singles for the band in 2011.

2012 would see The Nexus increase their success with singles and album releases across the globe including Lana Del Rey which resulted in the single “National Anthem’ appearing on the international multi platinum hit album ‘Paradise’. The album would go on to sell over 4 million records, reaching number 1 in 11 countries. Additionally, The Nexus have worked and released with artists such as Newton Faulkner, Morten Harket, Will Young, Nicole Scherzinger, Olly Murs, Pixie Lott and Kristina Train (to name a few!).

As well as working with established artists The Nexus particularly enjoy working on artist development. This can include artists either recently signed and working on their first record or exciting unsigned artists looking for songs and direction to take to labels. These have included recent signings The Vamps, Jetta, James Bay, Bebe Black and Ryan Ashley.

In the winter of 2015 the Nexus signed to Reverb Music publishing and continue to be the go to unit for development. Their recent cuts include a No.1 in Australia for Jessica Mauboy, 3 tracks on the new Mika Record and the first single for Van Velzen. They are currently busy working on projects with Sandra Van Neiuland, James Arthur, Luke Burr, Laura Welsh and many more.

Selected Discography
Artist Record Credits
Stevie McCrorie Turn It Around Album track - Co-write
Stevie McCrorie Don't Go Album track - Co-write
Stevie McCrorie If We Wait Album track - Co-write
Jessica Mauboy This Ain't Love Single - Co-write
Mika All She Wants Album track - Co-write
Mika Good Wife Album track - Co-write
Bianca Hi-5 Single - Co-write and Production
Van Velzen Call It Luck Single - Co-write ad Production
Peta and The Wolves Scum Co-write ad Production
Lana Del Rey National Anthem Co-write and Backing Vocals
Wonderland Time Has Run Out Album Track - Co-write
David Archuleta Don't Run Away Co-write and Production
Grayson Chance Sunshine & City Lights Single - Co-write & Production
Shane Filan 4 tracks from 'You And Me' Album Tracks - Co- write & Production
Charlie Brown Dependency Single - Co-write & Original Production
Morten Harket Keep The Sun Away Single - Co-write
Newton Faulkner Pick Up Your Broken Heart Album Track - Co-write & Original Production
Newton Faulkner Soon Album Track - Co-write
Newton Faulkner Feel Single - Co-write & Production
Matt Cardle Slowly Album Trk - Co-write
Matt Cardle Letters Album Trk - Co-write
HURTS Silver Lining Album Trk - Co-write & Additional Production
HURTS Blood, Tears & Gold Single - Co-write & Additional Production
HURTS Illuminated Single - Co-write & Additional Production
Nate James The Message Single - Co-write